Canterbury Books Welcomes New Manager

Originally from North Carolina, Kara Joyce has been a Roanoke native for 18 years and considers it her adoptive hometown. Her two children, Georgia, 16, and Henry, 13, live with her in South Roanoke and were both christened at St. John’s.

Kara describes herself as a “cradle Episcopalian” – both of her children were christened at St. John’s (in 2001 and 2004). She finished a B.A. in journalism and mass communication at UNC-Chapel Hill, and an M.A. in creative writing at Hollins. She “chose Hollins because the College/University educated two of my very favorite authors – Lee Smith and Jill McCorkle.

“I said I am having serial careers, and in a way I am!” she says. “My next one will be stand up comic.” Her work experience has included an internship with National Public Radio and teaching at Hollins and at Virginia Western Community College.

A lifelong bookworm, she is excited to be Canterbury’s new manager and help it grow.

“These days I am reading two books alternately – Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance, and An Unquiet Mind by Kay Jamison. I love to sprinkle a little poetry in there, too: favorites include John Donne, Billy Collins, Sharon Olds and Elizabeth Bishop. Really, I just love to read and wish my life included more time for extended reading sessions.

“I believe the best way to become a good writer is to become a voracious reader. I am unreasonably fond of Agatha Christie and Dorothy Sayers; I am a lover of crosswords and Words with Friends, too. The word puzzles are my mental decompression time.”

Kara’s talents have led her to jewelry making, and she owns her own hair salon.

Leave a Reply

